A Failed WILD, but a Wild Ride!

I took my Melatonin (3mg) and B-Complex 100 at around 11:30 p.m., went to bed at around 12:00am, and woke up at about 4:30 a.m. Took Mugwort, ate a chocolate bar, took Galantamine (4mg), Ginkgo Biloba, and a new treat, Acetyl-L-Carnitine (400mg) with Lipoic Acid (200mg), and went into my “Sleep Chamber” (ie. The Closet) to attempt a WILD.

I listened to 10 minutes of my own Isochronic Tone (Alpha 10Hz) Ambient MP3 to get relaxed, and the Lucid Spike IsoTone MP3 which doesn’t start playing for 20 minutes, and lasts 40 minutes once it gets started.

Nearly fell asleep between MP3 files

After the ambient track, I felt the fuzzy/numbness, but I was by NO means in Sleep Paralysis (I’m beginning to think I can’t induce this state). All was quiet, as I had my ears plugged with the headphones over top. I started with the silly thoughts like, “These are the doldrums, crew! Focus on the lights…,” but none of the Hypnagogic Imagery that proceeds sleep really came. I waited and waited. I never moved (this time, I didn’t even swallow or cough after I got comfortable).

The Lucid Spike soothingly nudged me back to an aware status, while my heart-rate and breathing jumped. I didn’t move a muscle.

The lights come when I get these little jolts, but weren’t very impressive. They say you should focus on something logical when you’re thoughts get random and distracting, like counting or math. I think I screwed up by using Mnemonic Induced Lucid Dream technique of repeating my objective, “I’m going to have a lucid dream, I’m going to have a lucid dream.” And suddenly, my imagination is having a conversation with my boss for a brief second, but it’s not a dream, it’s active imagination. It’s IN my HEAD, not IN FRONT of my EYES. Just like when you’re picturing in your head what you ate for lunch, but more powerful and distracting.

Back to the darkness. Then I’m imagining lifting a flowing sheet and letting it fall slowly down, as it does it’s creating a vibration sound.

I now wonder if the vibrating noise was the Lucid Spike Iso-Tone MP3

Back to the darkness. I’m out. I hear or imagine a kid crying, and I’m annoyed. “How am I going to concentrate with that racket?” I’m sitting in a McDonalds, and I imagine walking over to this kid, who’s mother is doing nothing to shut it up, and slapping it in the back of the head.

If I HEARD a kid in my head crying (Hypnagogic Sounds), I imagined a scenario to fit it, which became a visible dream

I’m eating my cheeseburger, and the radio is playing Bon Jovi’s “Who Says You Can’t Go Home”. I guess my mind figured that was something bland they’d play at McDonalds.

Back to the blackness. Suddenly, I have a FALSE AWAKENING that I’m in the closet. I’ve somehow gotten entangled in my wife’s lingerie that was hanging up in the closet, my arm’s intertwined in the straps. The clothes hanger it’s attached to is PLAYING MUSIC, and it’s Green Day’s “Basketcase” to boot!

The Music Hanger™ played, "Sometimes I give myself the creeps, sometimes my mind plays tricks on me!"

I turn the switch off on The Music Hanger(Patent Pending).

“Darn it, I fell asleep!”, I thought to myself, not realizing I’m STILL sleeping and now dreaming. I was upset because I thought I woke up and missed the stage in a Wake Induced Lucid Dream where the imagery and sounds all come together to form something before your dreaming eyes, and you just walk into it.

I didn’t question that the closet was no longer dark. I closed my eyes and returned to concentrating on the WILD. I had Royksopp’s “Remind Me” in my head soon, in what sounded like was coming from the left side of the closet. It suddenly went silent like someone turned off the power to the CD player. I felt several “blasts” of vibrations and saw warbling lights shaped almost like the door I’m facing with my eyes shut. It’s like I’m going into hyperspace. They’d start, stop, start, stop. I had no way of knowing how much time passed.

Blackness again. And then…

Something had changed, I could sense it, so I dared to look

Then a light, seemingly too bright to be hypnagogic imagery. It felt like a light behind my eyelids. Slowly, I opened my eyes. The closet’s dark this time, except on the door, partially projecting onto my feet which are up against the door, is a technicolor 1950’s film I wasn’t familiar with. Two men are dressed nice and crossing a pool area. A 16″ x 16″ movie projection in my sleep chamber! I got so excited! “I did it, I finally crossed over into lucidity! I’m dreaming!”

And at that, my alarm went off!… INTO ANOTHER FALSE AWAKENING! I shut off my alarm. “Darn it!”, I thought. “I had JUST done it!”

I walked out of the closet, and it was a little too bright out to be 7:50 a.m., which my alarm was set for, but I didn’t question it. My wife was no longer in our bed, which was already made. This freaked me out, because I knew she didn’t go into work until 2:00 p.m. “Honey? Um… honey?” I couldn’t find her at first, but then I walked towards the bathroom, as I could hear her doing her hair.

I could hear my wife doing her hair, but never saw her

The dream shifted and fizzled out. I woke up laying perfectly still in my little sleep chamber. I managed NOT to flinch or jump up. I stayed perfectly still.

There’s a heaviness and “cognitivity” to reality that dreams lack, no matter how realistic or vivid they are. For some reason, usually, in dreams we don’t notice that it’s missing. When I woke up FOR REAL (finally), I knew it. But I managed to stay still, hoping I could focus on dreaming and fall back to sleep. I laid there for quite a while. Never saw the hypnagogic imagery, heard any hypnagogic sounds, and soon I realized it just wasn’t gonna happen.

I checked my iPhone and was happy to see it was only 7:00 a.m. I had almost an hour to sleep. I took off the headphones and rolled over. I couldn’t fall back to sleep. Soon, I got up and went back into my bedroom and laid back down into my bed. I don’t think I ever did really fall back to sleep.

This entry was posted in Dream Description, Dream Tools, False Awakening, Lucidity, Pictures, Theater, WILD and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

