Natural Dream Recall Method (w/Lucidity)

Okay, in two to three months I’ve learned some pretty obvious stuff, some talked about on other websites, and one or two things that help me personally with all this dream stuff.

First of all, 2 & 1/2 months isn’t enough time to be conclusion, but I’ve had some good and bad patches that I’ve learned from.

The Supplements: Don’t do NEARLY as much as they claim. Mixing and compiling herbs, supplements, vitamins, etc., can and probably will at the very least give you headaches (also, probably an upset stomach). Things like Apple Juice and Peanut Butter right before bed (including waking up and going back to bed) work better, in my opinion, than the $30 bottle of Galantamine that I purchased. Of course, just like the herb I bought and made the most bitter tea out of (which 9 times out of 10 gave me dreams about love lost and relationships destroyed, go figure it was used in the 1600’s as an abortion tea!), Blue Vervain, could’ve really been Verns mulched up, the Galantamine could be flour encapsulated, for all I would know. Buyer beware.

Placebos have little to no effect on me.

Maybe because of the successful first use, or maybe because a nurse friend I know suggested it’s heavier drug counter-part (Juvenon), but Acetyl L-Carnitine with Lipoic Acid seems to have worked the best, coupled with a Vitamin B-Complex — and this combo seems the safest.

Methods: WILD (wake initiated lucid dreaming) has still eluded me, but the Wake Back to Bed method, with a Dream Journal of SOME sort (voice recorder, bedside iPhone Notes app, etc., etc.) is the best for Dream Recall. Something I’ve started doing is drinking a half a glass or more of Apple Juice before I go to sleep, maybe with a spoonful of peanut butter. This insures that, for me personally, I wake up within an hour or so to go to the bathroom. When I do, I try and DO A REALITY CHECK. My voice recorder is in the bathroom waiting, and I’ll make a quick comment if I have a vague, muddy dream — full description if it’s a long detailed dream.

I then go back into the kitchen and have some more juice and perhaps peanut butter. I usually then wake up again within an hour and a half, and repeat. I’m TRYING to get my mind/body used to waking up on it’s own three times in a night, with the intention of remembering dreams. If I somehow sleep solidly through an entire night, I might remember the last series of dreams I had — but little else.

Sleep: Here’s the most obvious tip… you need a good night’s sleep. If you’re used to getting to bed by 11:45 p.m., and you don’t get to sleep until 1:00 a.m. or later, regardless of when you get up, you may find yourself too exhausted to remember your dreams. If you get up at 6:50 a.m., and don’t get to bed until 1:00 a.m., you might not be getting enough sleep to promote really good dreams.

This is just MY experience though. I’ve had my MOST vivid, lucid dream around the 1 & 1/2 hour REM peak, and most people claim the last peak at around 5 hours is more ideal. I’ve had instant dreams, regardless of how much sleep I had gotten beforehand. And I’ve gotten up, done everything I’ve read to do, and had completely uneventful WILD attempts. Everyone’s going to be different.

Now, last night I didn’t get to bed until late, so…

A Town Called Innovative

Sometimes keywords typed while half asleep is all you need to remember entire dreams. Not so for me. I was too tired to get up and let the dream recall unravel, so I’ve got this…

My wife and I got into an argument in a town that “celebrated” innovation… but nothing about the town or it’s denizens made me think it was altogether that intelligent or innovative of a place. Little Japanese-like totems littered the woods off the streets (I watched some Akira Kurosawa before bed), but I think they might’ve been mechanized… okay, maybe this town had SOME innovation.

I got sick of waiting outside a restaurant that my wife had gone back into, so I went inside. I sat down with a group/family we were with, and the person in front of me was having ham. It looked tasty. We got the check and were leaving, when what “feels” like what was my mother-in-law, was DELIGHTED to get a wristwatch that had some strange features I can’t recall. It literally pulled and could fall apart intentionally, but I was unimpressed.

When I woke up, I wrote… “Town of innovation, ham, (wife) fight”.

I also woke up with another dream in my mind, and since I was up for good, I just knew I’d remember it. Then my wife got up, I had breakfast and stopped blogging, came back… and ::poof!:: it’s gone.

Voice record, type or write down your dreams people!

This entry was posted in Dream Description, Dream Tools, Fail, Food, Lucidity and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

