A WILD Evening Alone

In the last week or two, I’ve attempted at least 3 times to have a Wake Initiated Dream to positively, ABSOLUTELY, no avail! Each time, I simply fall dead asleep and never really return until it feels like I’ve tried too long or I feel it’s time to get back into my actual bed and get some “normal” sleep.

So this morning, I awoke somewhat early. My wife had returned from work, and went to a baby shower, so by 5:00 p.m., I was tired. “Why not?”, I asked myself, so I tried thinking of what I should change up.

My anchor.

My anchor for months now has been Naturespace’s iPhone app, specifically the “Back Home” rain sound effect. It always used to lull me close to sleep, but not let me fall asleep completely. Well, now I’m quite able to fall asleep to it, and so I needed to switch it up.

So I used a sound effect I used to hate. “Treehouse Rain”. This sound effect annoyed me, because the rain sounds swell a great deal. This means one minute, you’re hearing next to nothing and the next, it’s a typhoon! There’s little subtleties  to “Back Home”, things come and go, ebb and flow — but “Treehouse Rain” gets LOUD and gets inaudible.

But that was just what I needed, since I was clearly sleeping right through the nicer of the two.

So I laid down with my snuggie, ear plugs, sleep mask, iPhone and headphones, and played what I thought would be too loud a sound effect. I thought I’d try and relax for a bit, wiggle a toe… count 20 seconds or so, and wiggle a finger, and so on. I did this maybe one full time through (two big toes, two index fingers), and I was out.

I woke up and tried not to move a muscle. I heard the rise and fall of the sounds, tried thinking of what I was doing wrong, or if it’d just take a time or two, and I was out again. I was laying there again, trying not to move, and I relaxed and imagined each time the rain swelled, that I was drifting into the dream. I imagined myself reality checking my hands, and as I “lifted” my left hand in my mind, my body started vibrating off and on. I imagined the bed I was on would start bopping slowly as if I was floating on the waters, and it did. Back and forth, forward and back — but I wasn’t sure when to “get up”.

I imagined my body being lifted, and in addition to “floating up”, I grabbed the door frame and stood up. It was “light” and effortless, so I knew I was dreaming.

I could see somewhat, but my sleep mask was creating the sensation that it was still ON my face (as something of an anchor, it WAS still on my face and I was probably feeling it), so I slowly pulled it off and warned it, “You best not have an infinite amount of masks on. Don’t EVEN go there.” It still felt there, but my eyes were open. There’s currently a pool party going on outside my room, so I thought, “I wonder if I’ll see people outside or if my dream will have emptied the dreamscape.”

My dream OVER compensated by having HUNDREDS of people outside, grilling, swimming and carrying on. Here’s where the dream falls apart. I suddenly hear, “You and me baby ain’t nothing but mammals, so let’s do it like they do on the Discovery Channel,” and I run out the door. I turn the corner to join the pool party, and think for a second, “Really?! Come on! You’re gonna turn this into a sex dream??”, and either the speed of which I ran outside or the inner unconscious conscience, derailed the dream. I *LET* it crash and burn (unfortunately), and I felt myself wake up.

I was -supposed- to take it easy and chill. Go with the flow. Instead, I ran, bolted around corners, and it fell apart. Oh well.

When I woke, I still felt my limbs feeling numb and heavy, but I knew I was awake. I tried for a bit to relax and flow back into a dream, but soon I was pretty awake. Still, a success after a long hiatus!

This entry was posted in Dream Apps, Dream Description, Fail, Lucidity, Pool, WILD and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

