DreamZ and BlogPress App

First, a quick note on the BlogPress app for those using OS5 on their iPhones. It crashes a LOT and you will lose long posts, FYI. At least as of this post.

Okay, I used the DreamZ App for the iPhone last night. It’s interesting, and I will continue to use it this week to see if it’s useful. The idea is, you place your phone, face down, under your sheets/covers, and it measures your movement and thus judges how deep a sleep you are in. I’m pretty sure it’s only your EYES that move during Rapid Eye Movement (R.E.M., the stage you’re most likely, but not exclusively, to have a lucid dream), but the charts this thing produced SEEMED reasonable.

I did not realize while using the app that every 30 minutes, a “Dream Cue” (ie. a sound) would be going off. The idea is, if the volume and sound chosen or created (you can make your own) is a successful cue, it will not wake you up, but you may hear it within your dream and acknowledge that you are dreaming. I did have a dream I was explaining to someone that a device was created to insert ideas/goals into one’s subconscious while they slept, and around this time was the first cue, seen above. I stirred, but didn’t fully wake up.

Then a half hour later, I woke up just enough to wonder what woke me. The third time, I woke realizing that the app was playing a “Countdown” and waking me. The fourth time it sounded exponentially louder, so I hit the “Wake Up” button, and used the restroom.

Upon returning to bed, I turned the volume way down, only wanting to see my sleeping habits.

I then fell into a brief, deep sleep, and rose just enough in consciousness to almost reach R.E.M. (according to the DreamZ app). At this point I dreamt I was at work. I was painting, for some reason, and my religiously and politically conservative boss was having  having a week long courtship around the business with a sleazy foul mouthed guy. I walked outside at one point to get some materials, and could hear them in a pool, and he was cursing like a sailor. I didn’t want my boss to see that I was within earshot of this hypocritical tryst, so I got back to work painting.

I never did hear the “dream cue” again, but eventually I woke on my own and had to use the restroom again. Not wanting to screw up the DreamZ app’s progress chart, I hit “Wake Up” again, and took it with me. The app has a place you can type out any dreams you had so far, and it also has a record audio option, which is cool. Unfortunately, half asleep, I must not have done it right, because what I wrote out wasn’t saved.

I decided to quickly record a proper, customized audio cue, so I did and returned to bed. Again, the audio wasn’t loud enough, so I never did hear the cue, but apparently my sleep was VERY erratic for the rest of the morning…

So I tossed and turned the remainder of the morning, and never did become lucid. I did have a dream that I was watching some horribly violent (though specifics escape me now) movie involving homeless people. At one point a homeless lady threatened this guy, and her threat struck me as incredibly terrifying and witty. At 9:30a.m., when I woke up, I half asleep attempted to type out what she had said, and now that I re-remember it, it was completely senseless!

All and all, I’m very interested to see if the DreamZ app helps any. I’ll definitely post my results.

This entry was posted in Dream Apps, Dream Description, Dream Tools, Pool, Work. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

